Commonwealth Games 2022: Neeraj Chopra To Lead 37-Member Athletics Team In CWG. Check Full List


New Delhi: Tokyo Olympic gold medalist Neeraj Chopra has been selected in the 37-member squad nominated by the Athletics Federation of India (AFI) for the Commonwealth Games 2022 to be held in Birmingham from July 28 to August 8 this year. AFI President Adille Sumariwalla expressed confidence that the team will do well. The team includes three male javelin throwers in Neeraj Chopra, DP Manu and Rohit Yadav and three triple jumpers in Abdullah Abubakar, Praveen Chitravel and Eldhose Paul.

Sumariwala said, “We are requesting the Indian Olympic Association to increase our quota by one and to assist in securing accreditation for a couple of athletes. We have also selected a few subjects to prove their fitness and form before the Games,” Sumariwalla said.

The AFI president said, “Shot putter Tajinderpal Singh Toor will have to perform well in Kazakhstan while Amoj Jacob has been selected in the men’s 4x400m relay team subject to his recovery and fitness level.” Sumariwala also said that Avinash Sable, Neeraj Chopra and Seema Punia-Antil, who is undergoing training abroad. She has sought exemption from participating in the National Inter-State Athletics Championships in Chennai.

Also Read: Prannoy Storms Into Quarterfinals, Sameer, Ashwini-Sikki Lose In Indonesia Open

“Seema Punia’s participation in the CWG will absolutely depend on her performance in the USA,” AFI president Adille Sumariwalla said.

“We have allowed her to train and compete in the USA considering her past results in the CWG and Asian Games,” he said of Punia, who skipped the June 10-14 National Inter-State Senior Championships which was the qualifying event for CWG selection.

The Team: Men: Avinash Sable (3000m Steeplechase); Nitender Rawat (Marathon); M Sreeshankar and Muhammed Anees Yahiya (Long Jump); Abdulla Aboobacker, Praveen Chithravel and Eldhose Paul (Triple Jump); Tajinderpal Singh Toor (Shot Put); Neeraj Chopra, DP Manu and Rohit Yadav (Javelin Throw); Sandeep Kumar and Amit Khatri (Race Walking); Amoj Jacob, Noah Nirmal Tom, Arokia Rajiv, Muhammed Ajmal, Naganathan Pandi and Rajesh Ramesh (4x400m Relay).

Women: S Dhanalakshmi (100m and 4x100m relay); Jyothi Yarraji (100mHurdles); Aishwarya B (Long Jump and Triple Jump) and Ancy Sojan (Long Jump); Manpreet Kaur (Shot Put); Navjeet Kaur Dhilllon and Seema Antil Punia (Discus Throw); Annu Rani and Shilpa Rani (Javelin Throw); Manju Bala Singh and Sarita Romit Singh (Hammer Throw); Bhawna Jat and Priyanka Goswami (Race Walking); Hima Das, Dutee Chand, Srabani Nanda, MV Jilna and NS Simi (4x100m relay).

(With PTI Inputs)

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here